National Board for Respiratory Care

The National Board for Respiratory Care is the credentialing organization for those entering into the respiratory care profession. The NBRC offers testing across seven specific areas of respiratory care:

  • Certified Respiratory Therapist

  • Registered Respiratory Therapist

  • Certified Pulmonary Function Technologist

  • Registered Pulmonary Function Technologist

  • Adult Critical Care Specialist

  • Neonatal / Pediatric Specialist

  • Sleep Disorders Specialist

The NBRC works collaboratively with other national organizations that include:

  • The American Association for Respiratory Care (AARC)

  • The American College of Chest Physicians (CHEST)

  • The American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA)

  • The American Thoracic Society (ATS)

More information about the NBRC and examination testing can be found at